Food is one way that students and families choose to express their faith. Many faiths have rules and regulations around the types of foods that can be eaten, especially animal products. For example, some faiths have required practices and ceremonies around how an animal is slaughtered.
The dietary practices of faith communities vary depending on the sect or school of religion to which they belong, and how the individual or family chooses to practice their religion. Having conversations with families about food choices and ensuring there are plant-based options at all meals and snacks are good strategies for inclusivity. The following is a list of general practices to be aware of, but is not exhaustive, and does not take the place of having conversations with students and their families. Some common faith-based dietary practices:
Buddhism
Lacto-vegetarianism is common.
Hinduism
Some Hindu followers are pure vegans, some are lacto-vegetarians, while others eat fish and certain meats.
Islam
“Halal” is a term used to describe foods that comply with dietary guidelines set by traditional Islamic law. These laws determine which foods may be consumed and how they must be produced, processed, and prepared. Pork and pork byproducts (lard, gelatin) are not halal. In larger centres, Halal meat and poultry is available fresh, frozen, or processed, as well as Halal soup bases. Some Muslims fast during Ramadan (dates change annually), abstaining from eating and drinking between sunrise and sunset. Be mindful some students might observe Ramadan and would not participate in a school food program temporarily during Ramadan.
Judaism
“Kosher” is a term used to describe foods that comply with dietary guidelines set by traditional Jewish law. These laws determine which foods may be consumed and how they must be produced, processed, and prepared. Pork, pork products and shellfish are not kosher. Some Jewish followers will not eat meat/poultry that is cooked and/or served with dairy products. For many, during the eight days of Passover, leavened products are not eaten (such as bread).
Seventh Day Adventist
Dietary practices include following lacto-ovo vegetarian diets or eating only kosher meat, poultry, and fish.
Sikhism
Vegetarianism is common, but some eat meat. Typically, halal and kosher meats are forbidden.
Indigenous Ways of Knowing: Some Indigenous cultures also hold animals in reverence and believe animals have a spiritual realm that is interconnected with the physical realm. Indigenous Peoples use stories and ceremonies to pass down knowledge and traditions around food sources to ensure sustainable animal and plant harvesting for future generations.